Skip navigation
This application uses cascading style sheets (CSS) for visual layout. Your browser does not appear to support CSS, so some visual aspects of the application will not be avaliable. All functionality is avaliable but for optimal viewing, please update your Web browser. Current versions of many browsers are available free online.
Your session has timed out Login
Rewarding and Inspiring Great Teaching Since 1983

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Since 1983, more than 4,400 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. If you know great teachers, nominate them to join this prestigious network of professionals.

Nominations Open Fall 2016

Nominations for mathematics and science teachers of grades 7-12 will open in Fall of 2016.

Applications Open Fall 2016

Applications for mathematics and science teachers of grades 7-12 will open in Fall of 2016.

When nominations and applications open, we can let you know! Contact us at

Awardees Announced July 2015

On July 1, 2015, President Obama named 107 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

"These teachers are shaping America's success through their passion for math and science," President Obama said. "Their leadership and commitment empower our children to think critically and creatively about science, technology, engineering, and math. The work these teachers are doing in our classrooms today will help ensure that America stays on the cutting edge tomorrow."

More details can be found in the
White House press release.

Recognition Program Web Site

Registered Users Login


The 2012 awardees gathered at the National Science Foundation