The following teachers are the most recent recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST):

Media Contacts

Bobbie Mixon Jr. - NSF
(703) 292-8485


The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th grade mathematics or science (including computer science) teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Up to 108 teachers are recognized each year.

Presidential Awardees receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Awardees also join an active network of outstanding educators from throughout the nation. Since 1983, more than 4,800 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

To learn more about the PAEMST program, please click here.

To find information on PAEMST awardees from prior cohorts, please click here.

We also encourage you to visit PAEMST's 35th Anniversary page to learn more about the award's accomplished alumni.

Thank You to Our 2018 Donors

NCTM Logo National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
NOAA Logo National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
NSTA Logo National Science Teachers Association
SFSCA Logo South Florida Science Center and Aquarium
TCM Logo Teacher Created Materials
Vernier Logo Vernier
WWPBL Logo Wide World Publishing